Tue, 26 Oct 2021

Keegan Leahy earns eNASCAR iRacing playoff win

Field Level Media
15 Sep 2021, 14:19 GMT+10

Keegan Leahy pulled away on the final restart to win the eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series playoff race Tuesday night at a virtual Bristol Motor Speedway.

It was the second event of the series' four-race playoffs. Bobby Zalenski won the postseason opener at a virtual Darlington Raceway on Aug. 31. The three playoff winners will be among the four drivers who will battle for the season title on Oct. 12 at a virtual Texas Motor Speedway.

Leahy, in the No. 32 Toyota, captured his second victory of the season, beating Logan Clampitt, in the No. 97 Chevrolet, by 0.283 seconds.

"I've never experienced this before, but it really does feel like a dream," said Leahy, a Halifax, Nova Scotia, resident. "I did expect ... in the last 10 laps for this to happen. ...

"I didn't push a single lap until the last 10. I had to save tires. What I was trying to do, I didn't want my competition to know that I was backing them up so I didn't reach the tail of the line. I didn't want to start passing lapped traffic, so I did as little of that as possible. ...

"Pushed it at the end. That felt nice 'cause I like turning fast laps."

Clampitt, from Concord, N.C., said, "Keegan's a really smart racer. It's pretty tough to beat him, but that last big green-flag run, he just had clean air and he just forced me and Mitchell (DeJong, who came in fourth) to battle it out and I just used up all my tires. (Keegan) had all that clean air to save his tires."

Ryan Luza took third place in the No. 4 Ford, and DeJong was next in the No. 23 Toyota. Ray Alfalla claimed fifth place in the No. 51 Toyota.

The next race, which will establish the final pool of title contenders, will be held at a virtual Talladega Superspeedway on Sept. 28.

--Field Level Media

More Dallas News

Access More

Sign up for The Dallas News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!