Tue, 27 Jul 2021

On This Date: NFL Owners Vote For Realignment

23 May 2020, 20:50 GMT+10

Decision in 2001 puts Seahawks on path to join NFC West in 2002.

On May 22, 2001, NFL owners unanimously voted for league realignment beginning with the 2002 season. Changes included the addition of the expansion Houston Texans (giving the league a nice, easily divisible number of teams with 32), a new South division in each conference, and the reshuffling of several teams' divisions as a result. The Seahawks, of course, made the move from the AFC West to the NFC West and, well, things have worked out pretty well.

Record vs. Since 2002

vs. Arizona: 20-15-1

vs. Rams: 22-14

vs. 49ers: 23-13

In addition to a winning record vs. the rest of the division, the Seahawks also hold an edge where it really matters: banners.

Division Titles

Seahawks: 8

49ers: 4

Cardinals: 3

Rams: 3

Conference Titles

Seahawks: 3

49ers: 2

Rams: 1

Cardinals: 1

And while others in the division have reached the Super Bowl--an NFC West team has appeared in five of the last eight--the Seahawks are the only team in the division to hoist the Lombardi Trophy since the realignment.

Take the schedule with you

Printable PDF Wallpapers

Sign up for The Dallas News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!